C. V. Davis



Download Full Text (4.3 MB)


The 2016 edition of The Broad River Review was edited by C. V. Davis. The publication contains fiction, non-fiction, art, poetry, and photography. The cover, "Rusty Hinge," was photographed by Brian Michael Barbieto. The winner of the J. Calvin Koontz Poetry Award, given annually for a portfolio of poetry to a senior English major, is MaryKate Powell. The Broad River Review Editor's Prize in Poetry is chosen among all submissions from Gardner-Webb University students. The winner of the poetry award is Ilari Pass for the poem titled, "Kaleidoscope in Place of Conversation." The Rash Awards, named in honor of Ron Rash, a 1976 graduate of Gardner-Webb University, are awarded annually for outstanding works in poetry and fiction. The 2015 award recipients are Sam Grieve for his fiction work titled, “We Are All Nobody” and Patricia L. Hamilton for her poem titled “Trespass.” Aaron Gwyn and David Kirby served as judges for the fiction and poetry contests, respectively.

Publication Date



Gardner-Webb University


Boiling Springs, NC


literary publication, Gardner-Webb University, student art, student writing, J. Calvin Koontz Poetry Award, The Broad River Review Editors Prize, Brian Michael Barbieto, MaryKate Powell, Ilari Pass, The Rash Awards, Ron Rash, Sam Grieve, Patricia L. Hamilton, Aaron Gwyn, David Kirby, poetry contest, fiction contest


Arts and Humanities | Creative Writing | English Language and Literature | Fiction | Nonfiction | Poetry

Volume 48 (2016)