C.V. Davis



Download Full Text (764 KB)


The 2018 edition of The Broad River Review was edited by C. V. Davis. The publication contains fiction, non-fiction, art, poetry, and photography. The cover, "Blue Door," was photographed by Rollin Jewett. The winners of the J. Calvin Koontz Poetry Award, given annually for a portfolio of poetry to a senior English major, are Mallory Moore and Hannah Ray. The Broad River Review Editor's Prize in Poetry is chosen among all submissions from Gardner-Webb University students. The winners of the poetry award are Summer Byers for the poem titled "In the Name of Victory," and Aaron Hilton for the poem titled "System Failure." The Rash Awards, named in honor of Ron Rash, a 1976 graduate of Gardner-Webb University, are awarded annually for outstanding works in poetry and fiction. The 2017 award recipients are Leslee Becker for her fiction work titled "Such Friends," and Patricia L. Hamilton for her poem titled "Puzzle." Taylor Brown and Bill Brown served as judges for the fiction and poetry contests, respectively.

Publication Date



Gardner-Webb University


Boiling Springs, NC


literary publication, Gardner-Webb University, student art, student writing, J. Calvin Koontz Poetry Award, The Broad River Review Editors Prize, The Rash Awards, Ron Rash, poetry contest, fiction contest


Arts and Humanities | Creative Writing | English Language and Literature | Fiction | Nonfiction | Poetry

Volume 50 (2018)