Download Full Text (3.8 MB)


The 2002 edition of The Broad River Review was edited by Abigale Wolford and C. V. Davis. The publication contains fiction; non-fiction; poetry; art; and photography by student; regional; and national writers and artists. The winner of the J. Calvin Koontz poetry award, given annually for a portfolio of poetry to a senior English major, is Sarah Thomas with Ron Rash serving as the contest judge. The cover design, "The Broad River in Blue," was photographed by Natalie Brown. Student writing award winners include: Christi Hallis; Tara Hostetler; and Abigale Wolford. The Broad River Review Editor's Prizes in Fiction and Poetry are chosen among all submissions from Gardner-Webb University students. Student art award winners include: Kim Blanton; Erik Wince; and Ignacio Arana. Fiction award winners include: Ron Rash, Jennifer Carlile, Miriam Oviedo, and C. V. Davis.

Publication Date



Gardner-Webb University


Boiling Springs


Abigale Wolford, C. V. Davis, Ron Rash, J. Calvin Koontz, literary journal, literary publication, Gardner-Webb University, Student art, Student Writing, J. Calvin Koontz poetry award, Ron Rash, Christi Hallis, Tara Hostetler, Abigale Wolford, Kim Blanton, Erik Wince, Ignacio Arana, Natalie Brown, Jennifer Carlile, Miriam Oviedo, Sarah Thomas, The Broad River Review Editor's Prize


Arts and Humanities | Creative Writing | English Language and Literature | Fiction | Nonfiction | Poetry


Access to this collection is unrestricted. Items published in this collection and made available through Digital Commons are copyright protected. The materials in this collection are made available for use in research, teaching, and private study. Images and text may not be used for any commercial purposes without prior permission from Gardner-Webb University Archives or The Broad River Review.

Volume 34 (2002)