Download Full Text (77 KB)


Gardner-Webb welcomed nearly two dozen distinguished former faculty members to the University’s Tucker Student Center this summer for a luncheon to honor their dedication to the institution and to celebrate the release of the third edition of the “GWU Faculty Emeriti Book.” “The Faculty Emeriti Luncheon was a wonderful opportunity for the University to reconnect with a group of faculty members who have made a profound contribution to the shape and fiber of Gardner-Webb University,” said Dr. Ben Leslie, GWU Provost and Executive Vice President. “Their presence at Gardner-Webb has been sacrificial in that any of them could easily have found greater financial reward elsewhere. But they believe in our ideal of Christian higher education, and have chosen to leave their mark here. And believe me, in each and every case, they have.”

Publication Date



Gardner-Webb University


Boiling Springs


Carolyn Billings, Dr. Alice Cullinan, Dr. Ben Leslie, Dr. Bob Blackburn, Dr. Bob Lamb, Dr. Bob Morgan, Dr. Darlene Gravett, Dr. Doris Banner, Dr. Frank Bonner, Dr. Frieda Brown, Dr. George Cribb, Dr. Joyce Brown, Dr. Les Brown, Dr. Oland Summers, Dr. Paul Jolley, Dr. Perry Hildreth, Dr. Phil Perrin, Dr. Roger Gaddis, Dr. Ron Williams, Dr. Sherman Parrish, Dr. Shirley Toney, Dr. Terry Fern, Dr. Tony Eastman, Dr. Tracy Jessup, Dr. Vann Murrell, emeriti, faculty emeriti, GWU Faculty Emeriti Book, Matthew Tessnear, Noel Manning, Pat Harrelson, Thirlen Osborne, Valerie Parry

Gardner-Webb Celebrates Outstanding Contributions of Former Faculty Members at Emeriti Luncheon